Back in the racing scene

31Mar12

Well, not really. But I did volunteer for a  few hours yesterday at packet pickup for the 10 Miler. It was fun! I wish I’d taken a few pictures – mostly because 1)I pinned approximately 150 sets of four safety pins together and 2)I was handing out numbers 1-250. Which meant that I had a lot of people with last names beginning with A and B, but also the 10 “special” entrants. Number 1 was reserved for C’ville running royalty (who didn’t actually run the race, as far as I know), and most of the other low numbers either won or placed. So that was pretty cool!

I saw lots of friends picking up their packets, and got a taste of the race day excitement. It’s so infectious – I had been musing lately on shifting my eventual fitness focus away from running, but who am I kidding. I love this stuff!! I am debating signing up for the Montalto Challenge in just over a month. I know I won’t be able to run much of it, but I think I could walk it. I’ve been dying to do this since it was introduced a few years ago, but I’ve always had a set in stone conflict before the date was announced. No such conflict this year, other than being fresh out of hip surgery. But hey, walkers even get a 30 minute head start!

I also had the opportunity to speak with the race director of the 10 Miler, who had a hip scope a few years ago, and is now fully recovered, running, and doing yoga. It was great to hear a success story – we didn’t have much time to speak as he was crazy busy, but he did offer some advice and told me a little about his experience recovering. He’s a very talented athlete and was a sprinter, and has got to be at least 10 years younger than me, but it sounds like his experience was not so dissimilar to mine. He goes to the same amazing PT I do, so I am feeling even better about that choice.

Next up – I tackle a day at the amusement park with the kids. Wish me luck.

2 Responses to “Back in the racing scene”

  1. 1 Jen

    I’m doing the Montalto Challenge and can’t wait. Do you think you’ll be ready for that kind of walk/run?

    • 2 ryan

      Jen – I hope so! Just did two days clomping around Busch Gardens with no ill effects, so I’m hopeful that I’ll be up for 5k in a month. I’m going to talk to my pt about it next week.

      Sent from my iPad


Leave a Reply

