hurts so good

26Mar12

Wednesday marks eight weeks since the surgery, and enough healing has occurred that we can now start working on range of motion. I’m looking forward to being able to sit on the ground with my kids someday soon. And stretch my adductors in cobbler’s pose. The PT put me in an adductor stretch for the first time today – aaaaaahhhhh. I haven’t been able to do that in eight weeks, and it felt like blood was finally flowing places it hasn’t been in almost two months. Other awesome things – we worked on hip flexor stretches. Oh.my.heavens. There’s hope for me yet!

And thus concludes the awesome part of PT. Not that the result isn’t awesome, but today, Mr. Happy Fun Nice PT Guy pushed and pulled in ways that did not feel awesome. He helped me distinguish between pain and discomfort. And then spent a long time exploring all kinds of different levels of discomfort. 

When I finally hopped off the table, the first thing out of my mouth was “Wow, my leg feels longer!” I walked without limping across the room. And then I got to explore discomfort some more with some excruciating glute exercises. My glutes and quads were on fire by the end of the hour.

For the first time, I feel like my condition will be helped by activity, rather than hindered by it. My body is healing itself, but with hard work, I can heal more quickly and be stronger than I was before. And that feels even better than cobbler’s pose.

One Response to “hurts so good”

  1. 1 Jen

    Ah yes, now you’re at the part of PT where you have to work really hard and experience some discomfort in order to get results.

    I’m glad to hear that you’re feeling better and are ready to get moving. I remember that feeling and am excited that you’re getting closer and closer to normal activity levels.


Leave a Reply

