the return of quads

24Mar12

I’ve hit a whole new level of recovery. I don’t know if it’s the PT or just being a few more weeks out of surgery, but I’m feeling so much more normal. I have a long way to go – my range of motion is still pretty limited, and I have pain in certain positions, but for the most part I feel great! I jumped from limping along on the treadmill at 2.5 mph to briskly striding at 3.5 mph. And I skipped from level 3 on the bike all the way to level 8.

A typical session at the gym includes 15 – 20 minutes on the bike and 10-20 minutes on the treadmill. On Thursday, for the first time, I went for a walk around the block just because I could! I no longer fear hills and uneven ground. Which is a good thing, since spring is in full swing, which means chasing after kids on bikes, and hiking across bumpy fields for t-ball games. There’s no way at all I could have done this four weeks ago.

At PT, I start with some warmups, and then get some gentle joint mobilizations. This is where I lie down and the PT moves my leg to help increase range of motion. It’s my favorite part, because I just get to lie around, and also because it’s so effective – in a matter of minutes, I go from feeling stiff and gimpy, to feeling almost normal. After that, the exercises. We’re concentrating on regaining the strength in my hip muscles. I do exercises called “clam” and “monster walk” among others. Lots of single-leg squats on the bad side. Balance board squats. Which means that not only can I see my quads again (hello, old friends!!!), but my booty is going to be spectacular. At home, I do 30-45 minutes of exercises daily, in addition to any time I had at the gym. I’m diligent about doing my exercises, and push myself until my glutes and quads are burning.

I know that my progress won’t always be this dramatic. But I’m holding on to it for now, and not worrying about the inevitable plateaus and setbacks.

No Responses Yet to “the return of quads”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

