6 weeks

13Mar12

Tomorrow marks six weeks since the surgery. I had my follow up with the surgeon today. It was a long drive for a quick grip ‘n’ grin – Skype would have been a lot more efficient, and would have saved me the $90 I spent on carbs at Trader Joe’s. I got a rather nonspecific warning to avoid too much flexion, and not to do anything that hurts. And a little pep talk about how I’ll have setbacks, and that’s typical, and I shouldn’t expect to feel totally normal for 6-12 months. And I can come back for another 40 minutes in the waiting room and 10 minutes of face time in two months if I want to, but otherwise I’m released into the wild.

And, I have to brag: When the PA called me out of the waiting room, I was sitting at the far corner. When I got to the door, she remarked that she hadn’t expected me to walk across the room so quickly! As a kid, I was quite the overachiever (academically, that is – gym class reduced me to tears), and I must say, I do enjoy being an overachiever once again. Even if this flavor of overachieving involves walking faster than fat old ladies with hip replacements.

3 Responses to “6 weeks”

  1. 1 Melissa

    What I want to know is when you’re coming running with me again?! 🙂 No rush, get better.

  2. 2 ryan

    Side by side treadmills any day! 🙂 I should be able to run in about another 6 weeks, but I will be slooooooowwwwwww.

  3. 3 Jen

    That’s awesome! Yay you!


Leave a Reply

